Any chips which are prepared, seasoned, and served according to Islamic Law are known as Halal Chips.
Although Islam is a religion, its rules and regulations are highly related to food consumption.
Islam doesn’t entertain consumption of Pork or any Pork-based products.
Meats which are slaughtered according to Islamic tradition are only permissible.
Therefore, chips/ snacks are to be fried and seasoned in separate pans.
It cannot be prepared in utensils that may have come into contact with Pork or a slice of Non-Halal meat.
In general, there are no problems with Chips.
But where does the problem lie?
In many establishments, Pork Fat is a common frying agent for crisps/French fries.
In order to be Halal, Chips must be fried in oil that has its derivation from plants.
Example: Sunflower Oil or Vegetable Oil
Or else, the oil needs to be sourced from a Halal Butcher or Processor.
In addition, the fryers used must have never touched Pork or any Pork-based products.
Similarly, in the case of seasonings and flavourings, Chips cannot be garnished with products that contain Pork or Pork Products.
If any other animal products are utilized, it typically must also be Halal for the meal as a whole to comply with the law.
It also must not come in touch with machinery that is tainted with such products.
It is always advisable to check the label or ask the manufacturer for clarification
Usually, preparation of Halal Chips turns out to be more expensive for restaurateurs.
To meet Islamic standards, manufacturers/ restaurateurs needs to use separate machines for Halal and Non-Halal Chips. Additionally, they also need to separate hip-scoops, baskets, and cutlery to avoid contamination.
Undoubtedly, all these considerations escalate the cost of production and give rise to complications.